What is the Year of Mercy?

Sacred Heart Cathedral News

Photo courtesy Stephanie Richer

Photo courtesy Stephanie Richer

Seeing the great need for mercy and healing in the world, Pope Francis called for the Year of Mercy—a special period, also known as a Jubilee Year, for the Catholic Church. It is a time for the Church across the world to focus on forgiveness, healing, receiving mercy, and being merciful towards others.

At the opening Mass at Sacred Heart Cathedral on December 8, 2015, Bishop Richard F. Stika challenged the faithful to “Be not afraid to do a beautiful thing, an act of mercy every day during the Year of Mercy.”

Wednesday Exposition & Benediction

Every Wednesday from 5:30-6:30pm, the Cathedral will offer adoration and confession from December 9, 2015 through 11.20.16.

Pope Francis: “This will be a year in which we grow ever more convinced of God’s mercy.” (Video)

The works of mercy are the practical ways we live out mercy. They are how we show loving kindness, compassion, and self-restraint to the people around us, both physically and spiritually. There are 14 consistently recognized works of mercy:

Feed the hungry
Give drink to the thirsty
Clothe the naked
Harbour the harbourless
Visit the sick
Ransom the captive
Bury the dead

Instruct the ignorant
Counsel the doubtful
Admonish sinners
Bear wrongs patiently
Forgive offenses willingly
Comfort the afflicted
Pray for the living and the dead

To celebrate the Year of Mercy, Jeff Cavins reflects on the role the Virgin Mary plays in salvation history. He follows the Ark of the Covenant through the Old Testament and shows how Jesus’ birth fulfills the promise of mercy God gave his people. Courtesy Ascension Press